We’re almost there…

Tomorrow marks 37 weeks – 21 more days until our due date – and I’m writing tonight because I’m not quite sure that we’ll make it to that milestone.

I’ve written previously about the Braxton Hicks contractions, but what I’ve been feeling today is…different. I have all kinds of pressure going on throughout my abdomen and while none of it is painful, per se, the contractions are gaining consistency and power.

I don’t think we’ll go tonight. But it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve been wrong.

All in all, it’s a good time to go. I hope that we can still hold out maybe one more week, to greet June with a baby rather than making Memorial Day weekend even more memorable, but at this point it really isn’t up to me. The important thing is that guys, he’s coming!!  

Hey, at least it won’t be our first visit to the hospital this week.

Heads-up to a pretty unpleasant side effect of pregnancy – remember the heartburn? Well apparently, some of that acid can push up far enough that it goes into your airway instead of back down the esophagus where it belongs. And that acid can irritate the airway…and when that happens, you can totally cough up blood-and-other-ephemera.

Good news? It doesn’t affect the baby!! Bad news? You will go through at least part of the experience wishing someone would put you out of your misery.

(Better news, without going into too much detail, is that I can finally breathe normally again.)

Just between us (however many of us there are)…I’m a little scared now that I can see the finish line.

Time to dig deep.

 

One thought on “We’re almost there…

Leave a Reply

