Week 28: Clothes, carriers, and a lot of conversation

This pregnancy is racing.

In two days I go for my 28-week checkup; my MIL is coming along to hear Arthur’s heartbeat for the first time. After this, we have one more 4-week appointment and then…I start to get really friendly with the OB’s office.

We were gifted a HUGE tote of gently (or not at all) used baby boy clothes, from newborn onesies to my personal favorite, an 18-month DARTH VADER SLEEPER. I kid you not. Anybody who fails to realize how EPIC this is must have missed the memo that, well, Brian and I are sort of huge Star Wars fans. Don’t believe me? Here’s the invitation to the shower Arthur’s godmother is throwing:

If Arthur is born green...it might be totally awesome. (Design by Etsy user vmiddleton)

If Arthur is born green…it might be totally awesome. (Design by Etsy user vmiddleton)

I mean…the sleeper may have to become part of the shower decor while Arthur’s still too small to wear it.

Between my mother and I we’ve also purchased almost enough outfits to get him through his first few months of public outings. But I can’t help it, they’re just too adorable – and he has this huge closet to fill, so why not start now? I’m getting a jump start on the laundry so there’s only about a load’s worth of brand new clothes to wash (once I get them all), not counting whatever shows up at the shower.

Brian and I also took some time last week to play with some of the furniture and gear we’ve already received. So…we have a crib! And a stroller/car seat combo (with a surprise elephant in the pattern)! And another car seat that we left in the box because, really, we don’t need it just yet. And…a co-sleeper bassinet/playard! (True story: I didn’t realize in the case of this particular piece that it would be so versatile; however, this just makes life that much easier.) I can’t believe how real everything becomes just by having a stroller in plain sight, but it was like a switch flipped – in 2 1/2 months we will really be bringing home our little boy.

I’ve also been looking at different kinds of slings and carriers, since I plan to do quite a bit of baby wearing. I found some great ring slings, but at prices that made my eyes go wide. It isn’t that I appreciate the work that goes into choosing fabrics and making the slings, even if they aren’t hand-crafted; it’s that I can’t rationally spend $40 or more on a strip of fabric that we may not even use if Arthur isn’t comfortable, and that may ultimately end up sitting in the corner of his closet until maybe we can use it with Kid B. Some awesome DZ sisters suggested we visit our local Once Upon A Child to see what we could find. No ring slings, but we did get a Baby Bjorn and a Snuggli carrier – for less than $20!! Someone pinch me. Between these two carriers and the sling I already have, I think our baby wearing experiment will be off to a fantastic start.

The biggest ongoing change from week to week is how central Arthur has become in our conversations. Earlier on it was the “pregnancy” – symptoms, my feelings, etc – with random mentions of the still-abstract idea of “the baby”; now, our roles have shifted and as I move closer to our mysterious birth date we are talking a lot more about him – who he will be, how we will guide him and lift him up and the things from which we will always protect him.

One of the big catalysts for conversation in the last week was the verdict in the Steubenville rape trial. We’ve talked about how important it is to teach our children to stand up for themselves and others, but as parents-to-be of a little boy we’ve encountered the important role we have to play in changing the entire reality of rape culture in the future. I don’t intend for this post to become a soapbox about Steubenville or about rape culture – there are more appropriate venues – but it is a subject that weighs heavy on our hearts as we seek ways to raise a son who is not only brave and intelligent and ambitious, but also courageous and kind.

I mention it here because this afternoon I read an amazing post from the mother of an 18-year-old young man and I was compelled to share it. I don’t bind myself to a single faith system, but her words resonated with me nonetheless. If you have boys in your life – sons, brothers, nephews or cousins – I highly encourage you to click through and read her message. It is one I think we can all get behind, regardless of your faith system.

That’s all for now; requisite “this week in my symptoms” post to follow later.

Leave a Reply

