“I can’t believe I’m sitting here with you.”

Flash back to last week’s prenatal appointment. I was sitting on the table, in my oh-so-stylish pink tissue blanket, and Brian was looking appropriately awkward. (Turns out, according to my OB, that most fathers look equally awkward during these exams…interesting irony.) I was trying to calm him (irony!) with small talk, and he said, “I can’t believe I’m sitting here with you.”

Say what?

Then he continued: “I never imagined when we first met that one day we would be here.” Ohhhhh.

I remember when we first started dating – he was 16, I was 18, and it was the first of many times that we talked about being together for the long haul. We went back and forth about it, and he made a comment about “don’t worry honey, I’ll get the baby”. Up to that point it was one of the sweetest things he said to me, but despite the sentiment I can see how neither of us could have imagined the reality of it. Children were an abstract concept, along with marriage and home ownership and anything beyond our small, insulated world of community college. Deep down, I think we both realized (even if we wanted it so badly in that moment) that our pretty words were so much fluff.

Well, we’ve spanned the distance between fluff and substance.

I guess it’s just another interesting way that our lives have changed since day one…I can’t wait to see what comes next.

Leave a Reply

